Sunday 9th December
After last month’s sturdy trudge of 6.5 miles
through the splendid late autumn colour of Keat’s much loved Stansted Park, next
Sunday’s RECTOR’S RAMBLE returns close
by to explore Racton Ruin and the
meadows, woods, lanes and views of the Ems Valley….
The ‘Racton Monument’ – to give it its proper name
– was built in 1770 and now stands fully ruined in all its romantic, gothic
splendour. Some of us remember it as a gathering for illegal rave parties in
the 80’s (surely not the Rector. Ed.) and,
no doubt, they’ll be evidence that it’s still a place of intrigue and mystery
today… let’s find out – but wear boots ‘n waterproofs! Meet @ Rectory 1pm.
Disclaimer: This walk
is apparently 4.5miles – but it might not be…